Loading...
Loading...

Group Spells

Build your wellness toolkit in community! Long Spell’s signature group consultations are a unique form of community care offering focused, holistic support on specific health topics. 

Group Spells is participatory, accessible herbalism in an intimate group setting, guided by clinical energetic herbalist Gina Badger. Modelled after community acupuncture and group therapy, Group Spells is a way to access clinical herbal care at a lower cost, while also benefiting from the wisdom of the group. Each Group Spells session is focused on a key aspect of health: rest, digestion, or immunity.

What does this look like in practice? In the week leading up to your live session, watch a 60-minute video introducing key concepts and herbs that will orient you to the topic at hand. During your live session, reflection questions guide you in assessing how you are already taking care of yourself, what additional support you need, and how you can take concrete steps towards integrating herbs and simple practices into your daily routine. Participants are invited to share, witness, and offer support within the group container.

Following the live session, Gina will create a custom herbal formula for you to work with.

File_000

Key Aspects of Health

Restorative Rest

  • Resource your nervous system and meet stress with more resilience
  • Enhance your rest and restoration with calming adaptogens
  • Explore supportive sleep routines, from structured to intuitive

Balanced Digestion

  • Stoke your digestive fire with delicious custom bitters formulas
  • Ease upset tummies, gas, and bloating with carminative herbs
  • Learn why herbalists love talking about poop

Robust Immunity

  • Connect the dots between stress, digestion, and immunity
  • Replenish your immune reservoir with deep immune formulas
  • Design a routine for when you feel like you’re getting sick

What's included?

Live 90-minute session:

  • Small group so we can create a strong container
  • Self-assessment questions help you focus your work and identify health goals
  • Share your experience with the group & witness others’ similar process
  • Not recorded so we can create a strong community container

Pre-recorded 90-minute presentation:

  • Overview of the month’s theme, anatomy and physiology, materia medica (all about the plants), and basic formulation
  • Watch at any point before the live sessions

Herbal formula:

  • After your live session, Gina will create a custom herbal formula for you
  • Local pickup in Vancouver or Victoria; for participants located elsewhere, your formula will be shipped to you (shipping charged separately)
File_002

When & Where Do We Meet?

Saturday January 22

Restorative Rest @ 10–11:30am PT / 1–2:30pm ET

Robust Immunity @ 1–2:30pm PT / 4–5:30pm ET

Balanced Digestion @ 4–5:30pm PT / 7–8:30pm ET

Sunday January 23

Balanced Digestion @ 12–1:30pm PT / 3–4:30pm ET

Restorative Rest3–4:30pm PT / 6–7:30pm ET

Tuesday January 25

Robust Immunity @ 5–6:30pm PT / 8–9:30pm ET

If you are located in Victoria, BC, check out our offerings in collaboration with Heart & Hands Health Collective.

Can’t make any of these times? Add yourself to the waiting list and you’ll be notified the next time Group Spells is offered online.

Waiting List Signup

File_003

What’s the cost?

$50–90 sliding scale + applicable taxes**

Financial accessibility and mutual aid:

Please help us offer financially accessible care to those who need it most by paying as much as you can afford

5% of proceeds will be donated to the Unist’ot’en Camp Legal Fund

Excited about community-powered resource redistribution? Read more about Long Spell’s programs here

**GST will be added to your total. ALL PURCHASES ARE FINAL. When filling out the registration form, please ensure you are available for the date(s) and time(s) selected, as we will not be able to accommodate refunds, cancellations or exchanges. In case of extenuating circumstances (including confirmed or suspected COVID infection), please email gina @ longspellherbs . com. I am a self-employed person without backup income, and these boundaries are in place to respect my time, energy, and ability to support myself with this work. Thank you for your collaboration!

File_001

Is this for me?

This offering is for anyone who wants to build their self-care tools to support foundational resilience, and who’s ready to learn about the practical application of safe, accessible herbs

Group Spells is a highly participatory space that relies on everyone bringing their sparkly selves to the shared experience. If you’re not comfortable being on camera, or sharing your embodied experience with a small groups, this offering may not be the best fit for you

Beginner-friendly!

Open to current clients as well as folks new to my practice

Rachel Topham Photography

Meet your herbalist

I’m Gina Badger, and I’m the Clinical Energetic Herbalist who runs Group Spells. The reason I love group work is that it upholds herbalism as the people’s medicine: financially accessible, participatory, and plugged into community. Creating a shared space to learn about and deepen our healing, together, is powerful magic that honours the plants, the earth, and our collectivity. Learn more about my approach here.